About the Wyman Institute

The David S. Wyman Institute for Holocaust Studies teaches the history and lessons of America’s response to the Holocaust, through scholarly research, public events, publications, and educational programs.

Based on the research of Professor David S. Wyman concerning America’s response to Nazism and the Holocaust, the Wyman Institute focuses on the abandonment of Europe’s Jews during the Nazi era, the efforts to promote rescue, and the moral and historical lessons of those experiences.

The Wyman Institute strives to bridge the gap between the scholarly community and the general public, by making the historical record accessible to a broader audience through exhibits, speakers, educational curricula, and other forms of media.

The Institute brings together a politically, religiously, and culturally diverse group of concerned individuals and scholars, who share a commitment to the importance of studying, documenting, and publicizing the lessons of America’s response to the Holocaust.


Rafael Medoff, Ph.D., President and Founding Director

Sigmund A. Rolat, Chairman, Board of Directors (dec.)

Stephen M. Honig, Esq., Duane Morris LLP, General Counsel 

Ronnie Zolin, CPA,  Accountant

Advisory Committee

Elie Wiesel (dec.)
Nobel Peace Prize Laureate
Hon. Dr. Yehuda Ben-Meir
U.S. Sen. Rudy Boschwitz (ret.)
Benjamin Brafman, Esq.
U.S. Rep. Chris Cannon
U.S. Rep. Martin Frost (ret.)
Saadia Gelb
Kibbutz Kfar Blum, Israel
Prof. David Gelernter
Yale University
Prof. David Golinkin
President, Schechter Institute of Jewish Studies
Dr. Ruth Gruber (dec.)
Arno Klarsfeld, Esq.
Serge & Beate Klarsfeld
Association of French Jewish Deportees
Nili Kook
U.S. Rep. Tom Lantos (dec.)
Henry Morgenthau III (dec.)
Prof. Jonathan Rosenbaum
Past President, Gratz College
U.S. Rep. Steven Rothman (ret.)
New Jersey
Shimon Samuels
Simon Wiesenthal Center (Paris)
Hon. Shimon Shetreet
Hebrew University
U.S. Rep. Adam Schiff
U.S. Sen. Paul Simon (dec.)
Bruce Slovin
President, Center for Jewish History (emer.)
Chair, YIVO Institute
Nina K. Solarz
Chair, Wyman Institute
Task Force on Education
U.S. Rep. Stephen Solarz (dec.)
New York
Shale D. Stiller, Esq.
Sister Mary Rose Thering (dec.)
New Jersey
U.S. Sen. Chris Van Hollen
Livia S. Yanowicz
LSY Consulting
Sidney Zion (dec.)
Institutions listed for identification purposes only.

Academic Council

Prof. Irving Abella (dec.)
York University
Prof. Joseph P. Ansell (dec.)
Auburn University
Prof. Joseph Bendersky
Virginia Commonwealth University
Prof. Alan Berger
Florida Atlantic University
Prof. Aaron Berman
Hampshire College
Dr. Harold Brackman (dec.)
Simon Wiesenthal Center
Prof. Dov B. Fischer
Loyola Law School
Dr. Murray Friedman (dec.)
Feinstein Center for American
Jewish History, Temple University
Prof. Saul S. Friedman (dec.)
Youngstown State University
Prof. Zvi Ganin
Beit Berl College
Prof. Zev Garber
L.A. Valley College;
Editor, Studies in the Shoah
Prof. Haim Genizi (dec.)
Bar Ilan University
Prof. Zvi Gitelman
University of Michigan
Prof. Myron Glazer
Smith College
Prof. Penina Glazer
Hampshire College
Prof. Myrna Goldenberg
Montgomery College
Prof. Gershon Greenberg
American University
Dr. Alex Grobman
Brenn Institute
Prof. Jeffrey S. Gurock
Yeshiva University
Prof. Arthur Hertzberg (dec.)
New York University
Prof. Steven Jacobs
University of Alabama
Prof. Steven T. Katz
Boston University
Prof. Henry Knight
University of Tulsa
Dr. Rebecca Kook
Ben-Gurion University
Prof. Laurel Leff
Northeastern University
Prof. Richard Libowitz
Saint Joseph’s University
Dr. Marcia Sachs Littell
Richard Stockton College of New Jersey
Rabbi Dr. Haskel Lookstein
Dr. Elisabeth Maxwell (dec.)
Remembering For the Future
Prof. Rochelle L. Millen
Wittenberg University
Prof. Paul Miller
McDaniel College
Prof. James F. Moore
Valparaiso University
Prof. Benzion Netanyahu (dec.)
Cornell University
Prof. Stephen Norwood (dec.)
University of Oklahoma
Prof. Zsuzsanna Ozsvath
University of Texas at Dallas
Prof. Marc Lee Raphael
William & Mary College
Prof. Harry Reicher (dec.)
University of Pennsylvania Law School
Dr. Carol Rittner RSM
Richard Stockton College of New Jersey
Prof. Paul L. Rose
Pennsylvania State University
Prof. Peter I. Rose
Smith College
Prof. Alvin Rosenfeld
Indiana University
Prof. Maurice Roumani
Ben-Gurion University (emer.)
Prof. Baila Shargel (dec.)
Purchase College, SUNY
Prof. Moshe Sherman
Touro Graduate School of Jewish Studies
Prof. Melvin Small
Wayne State University
Prof. Leonard Swidler
Temple University
Editor, Journal of Ecumenical Studies
Prof. Mary Todd
Marshall University
Prof. Gil Troy
McGill University
Dr. Racelle Weiman
The Dialogue Institute
Temple University
Prof. David Weinberg
Wayne State University
Prof. Sonja P. Wentling
Concordia College
Prof. Robert Wistrich (dec.)
Vidal Sassoon International
Center for the Study of Anti-Semitism
Hebrew University
Dr. Bat-Ami Zucker
Bar-Ilan University
Dr. Efraim Zuroff
Simon Wiesenthal Center
Institutions listed for identification purposes only.

Arts & Letters Council

Cynthia Ozick, chair
Ellen Adler
Stella Adler Studio of Acting
Sal Amendola
Teacher, Artist, Editor
Samuel Bak
David Brenner (dec.)
Melvin Jules Bukiet
Neshama Carlebach
Miriam Chaikin (dec.)
Will Eisner (dec.)
Stuart Erdheim
Judy Feiffer
Colette Fox
Herbert Gold
Prof. Kathryn Hellerstein
Poet & Translator
Peter Himmelman
Janis Ian
Yaakov Kirschen
Cartoonist – “Dry Bones”
Francine Klagsbrun
Adam Kubert
Joe Kubert (dec.)
Mark Jay Mirsky
Novelist & Editor of Fiction
Michael Moorcock
Dr. Nathan Moskowitz
Michael Netzer
Hugh Nissenson
Martin Ostrow
Mark Podwal
Bernard & Suzanne Pucker
The Pucker Gallery
Archie Rand
Thane Rosenbaum
Pierre Sauvage
Andre Schiffrin (dec.)
The New Press
Lore Segal
Maurice Sendak (dec.)
Ted Solotaroff (dec.)
Writer & Editor
J. David Spurlock
Publisher, Editor, Artist
Prof. Rob Stolzer
Dept. of Fine Arts
University of Wisconsin
Irvin Ungar
Institutions listed for identification purposes only.


1200 G Street NW – Suite 800
Washington, DC 20005
Tel: (202) 434-8994
Email: info@wymaninstitute.org